TFT: Thought Field Therapy

19Aug08

Around two years after depression started for me (back in 2004) I got a call from the first psychiatrist I went to (who by that time I had ditched) because he told me he had learned a new method of “taps”, he said. I was reluctant to go to visit him at first, since I had mixed feelings about him and his professional capacity. This specific psychiatrist never really measured how depressed I was and just thought (by that time) I suffered from dysthimia or cyclothimia which are mood disorders much milder than mine.

By that time my condition was still critical so I accepted and went to visit him, not for free of course. By then I had been diagnosed as bipolar II by another physician and I told him so… he mentioned that he wasn’t really updated back when he first saw me so he underestimated my condition (I thought “OK… can I have my money and my life back now that things got out of hand?”. I guess that’s a “sorry I messed up” for a doctor).

After I sat down and chatted for a while he would make me bring memories to my conscience and as I did I was supposed to tap certain areas of my head and body in specific sequences and rhythm.

The therapy was supposedly miraculous but by the 4th session I began to accept and realize that nothing in me had changed. For me it was definitely a no-no. I guess I should mention I went to it with an open mind and really hoping it (or anything) would work. Later that day I called him up and asked him the name of the therapy and he mentioned TFT: Thought Field Therapy. I went online and did some research.

In short: “Thought Field Therapy, or TFT, is an alternative treatment developed by an American psychologist, Roger Callahan, Ph.D. Its proponents say that it can heal of a variety of mental and physical ailments through specialized “tapping” with the fingers at meridian points on the upper body and hands.”

For more info visit Wikipedia here.

2 Responses to “TFT: Thought Field Therapy”

  1. 1 publicspeakingphobia

    That’s really excellent.Thanks for sharing your story. Thought Field Therapy (TFT) is a new technique for the rapid relief of all kinds of emotional distress. It works rather like acupuncture by stimulating the body’s energy meridians to resolve problems with the body’s emotional control system.

  2. The experience and the treatment you have mentioned in your blog is really astonished. I have also the same problem and looking forward to follow your step. I can say not only I but so many persons are there who are facing the same problem in their busy schedule.

    If you have some more experience about this please mention.

    thanks.


Leave a Reply

